Entrez dans
l'univers Lepage
Our newsletter
Follow us on
LEPAGE blog Explore the Blog Discover the news of the jewelry
Gemstone rings

Gemstone rings


Ring 1922 in rose gold and diamonds

Brand Collection
Lepage x Ginette NY 1922
Jewel material
Rose Gold 750 th
Gemstone rings

Gemstones: four wonders of nature

The term "gemstone" is often incorrectly used to refer to all natural stones. However, according to the official classification of natural stones, there are only four precious stones: diamond, sapphire, ruby and emerald. The other stones are fine stones and ornamental stones (also called "hard stones"). Find a wide choice of rings adorned with colored stones in this selection, signed by Maison Lepage and the greatest jewelry brands!

Colored gemstones: sapphire, emerald and ruby

These gemstones, also called colored stones, bring all its cachet to a creation. Existing in many shades, sapphires, emeralds and rubies are rare gems imbued with symbolism. Worn alone, paired with a wedding band or even with another ring adorned with colored stones, gemstone-set rings are creations that will naturally find their place on your finger!


Belonging to the corundum family, just like ruby, sapphire is a gemstone that comes in e many colors. Primarily known in its blue sapphire form, there are actually rose, orange, yellow, green, purple sapphires, and even a unique hue known as padparadscha, oscillating between rose and orange. A symbol of fidelity, and elevation, the blue sapphire is often associated with celestial purity and protection. Giving a ring adorned with a sapphire is therefore a very beautiful proof of love and commitment!


With its mesmerizing green color, emerald has been one of the most coveted gemstones for thousands of years. A member of the beryl family, emerald is a gemstone that has natural asperities, called inclusions, or emerald gardens. These inclusions, forming a light white veil, are elements that contribute to the uniqueness of each stone, and make them unique! Symbolically, the emerald is the stone of love, wisdom and rebirth. Giving a ring set with such a gemstone allows you to convey strong feelings, and prove your attachment to someone dear to your heart...


Like sapphire, ruby belongs to the corundum family. Ranging from almost rose to the intense red known as pigeon's blood, the rarest color that can exist for a ruby, this gemstone offers a magnificent rendering when set in a ring. Pairing equally well with white gold, yellow gold and rose gold, rubies express passion and unconditional love.

Diamond, a gemstone apart

Having a truly special place, the diamond is the most precious of all gems. Composed of carbon, it is formed under extreme geological conditions, under phenomenal pressure, thus diamonds are only found in certain specific geographical areas. Formed in the earth's upper mantle, the gems are then brought to the surface during volcanic eruptions, before being discovered by humans. The value of a diamond is determined by 4 criteria, "the 4Cs": color, clariry, cut and carat.


The color, ranging from D (exceptional white +) to Z (yellow-brown). Be careful, however, as there are colored diamonds, known as "fancy colors," that are extremely rare!


Purity, determined by the number and size of inclusions present in the stone. Inclusions are small natural asperities, which appear during the formation of the gem. Values are graded on a scale from "perfect", i.e. LC (Loupe Clean) to "imperfect" P3 (Pique), and are based on rendering with a 10x magnifying loupe.


The cut, that is, the way the stone is cut so that all its beauty is revealed. Indeed, in its raw state, an uncut diamond does not sparkle. It is the creation of facets by professionals, the cutters, which reveals all the fire of a stone, and makes it sparkle in the light. The most classic cut is the "brilliant" or "round" cut. However, there are many other shapes, called "fancy cuts", such as pear, marquise, oval, cushion, princess... is generally the placement of inclusions and the natural volumes of the diamond that determine the size that will be given to it.


The carat is an indication of weight, 1 carat is equivalent to about 0.20 grams so the more carat a diamond weighs and the larger it is, then the rarer and more expensive it is. The name "carat" comes from the name of a tree growing around the Mediterranean, the carob tree, which gives fruits called carobs. The small seeds of these fruits have been chosen since ancient times as a unit of measurement, because of their amazing regularity. At Lepage, we only use diamonds with D to F color and minimum SI clarity (Small Inclusions). All our diamonds weighing more than 0.5 carat are supplied with an official HRD or GIA certificate, which attests to the authenticity and quality of the stone.